Holiday Schedule for Chapel Hill Transit

Chapel Hill Transit will adjust service hours to observe upcoming holidays.

  • Christmas Eve, Tuesday, Dec. 24 – Saturday Service
  • Christmas, Wednesday, Dec. 25 – No Service
  • Day after Christmas, Thursday, Dec. 26 – Saturday Service + GoTriangle 420
  • New Year’s Eve, Tuesday, Dec. 31 – Saturday Service + GoTriangle 420
  • New Year’s Day, Wednesday, Jan. 1 – No Service
  • Day after New Year’s, Thursday, Jan. 2 – Regular Weekday Service

Chapel Hill Transit will make the following schedule adjustments due to the UNC-Chapel Hill winter break schedule:

  • The weekday NU route will not operate Monday, Dec. 16, 2019, through Friday, Jan. 3, 2020, and will resume on Monday, Jan. 6, 2020.
  • The weekend U and NU routes will not operate beginning Saturday, Dec. 14, 2019, and will resume on Sunday, Jan. 5, 2020.
  • Safe Ride routes will not operate beginning Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019, and will resume on Thursday, Jan. 9, 2020.

Jingle Bell Express Took Off in 2019!

On December 12, 2019, Chapel Hill’s first Jingle Bell Express took flight with 17 participants to see the festive streets of Chapel Hill and then headed towards Carrboro in a collaborative program of green transportation, seed-planting (riding the bus).  The fun included babies to senior adults riding Chapel Hill Transit to check out the fare-free system and how the F Route travels from East to West and back.  The group made a quick stop at Carrboro’s Century Center for festive food, puppets, drumming, lots of singing and of course, laughter.

Jingle Bell Express 2019

Jingle Bell Express for Children & Parents, December 12th on Chapel Hill Transit! Sign Up TODAY!

Parents and children… RIDE THE JINGLE BELL EXPRESS, December 12th at NO CHARGE! Meet at University Place mall at 9:55 at the bus stop in front of the movie theater… treats, jingle bells for all… stories, music band and MORE! NO CHARGE for this great Jingle Bell Express on Chapel Hill Transit! Call 969-5065 for more information– or just meet at 9:55 a.m. on December 12th!  Call 919 – 969 -5065 to sign up!

J Bell Express